Denmark – facts & figures
Denmark (The Kingdom of Denmark) is a Scandinavian/Nordic country and consists of the peninsula, Jutland, and many islands, most notably Zealand, Funen, Lolland, Falster and Bornholm, as well as nearly 400 of minor islands and has more than 7.500 km of coastline. The highest point in the country is only 170 metres above sea level. The average wind speed is 7.6 metres per second, which explains why Denmark is one of the world's largest exporters of wind turbines.

Area: 43,098 km²
Population: 5,748,769 (2017)
Capital: Copenhagen 1,308,893 (2018)
Language: Danish
Currency: Danish Kroner (DKK), 1 Krone = 100 Øre
Form of state:  Monarchy. Greenland and the Faroe Islands are part of the realm but enjoy extensive home rule.
Parliament: Folketinget with 179 members in one chamber, elected every 4 years
Head of state: Queen Margrethe II (since 14 January 1972)
Head of government:  Lars Løkke Rasmussen (since 2015)
GDP per capita: 56,444 USD (2017)
Religion: 82,1 % belong to the National Lutheran Church
Membership:  UN, OECD, EU, NATO, Schengen, OSCE, IMF, WTO and others.


Designed by i2D